The Mark Andrews Excellence in Litigation Award honours the professional legacy of the late Mark Andrews, QC, who was widely regarded as a leading litigator in British Columbia and someone who made extraordinary contributions to the law and the legal profession.

The award will be presented to a candidate of merit as selected by the President of the Law Society and the Chief Justices of the Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. The award will be presented no more often than every two years and, as it will only be given where there is a fitting candidate, it may not be awarded every cycle. If awarded this year, the award will be presented to the recipient at the Law Society’s Recognition Dinner taking place on Friday, December 3, 2021. 

Award criteria

Current and former Law Society members are eligible for the award. Nominees must demonstrate:

  • outstanding lifetime achievements in litigation and advocacy.

How to submit a nomination

A Law Society member in good standing may nominate an eligible candidate to receive the award. Nominations are currently open and will close on October 4, 2021 at 5:00 pm.

To submit a nomination, send the nominee’s curriculum vitae, the completed Nomination Form, and the completed Consent Form by email, mail or courier, or in person, to:

Avalon Bourne, Manager of Governance & Board Relations
The Law Society of British Columbia
845 Cambie Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 4Z9

Further information

For further information about the award or nomination process, contact: