March 12, 2019

At their March 1st meeting, the Benchers adopted the following mandates for the Futures Task Force and the Annual Fee Review Working Group:

Futures Task Force

Recognizing that significant change in the legal profession and the delivery of legal services is expected over the next five to 10 years, the Futures Task Force will identify the anticipated changes, consider and evaluate the factors and forces driving those changes, assess the impact on the delivery of legal services to the public, by the profession and on the future regulation of the legal profession in British Columbia, and make recommendations to the Benchers on the implications of the anticipated changes and how the Law Society and the profession might respond to the anticipated changes.

Members of the task force are: Craig Ferris, QC (Chair), Jeevyn Dhaliwal (Vice-Chair), Lawrence Alexander, Lynne Charbonneau, Cristie Ford, Steven McKoen, QC, Tony Wilson, QC and Katie Sykes.

Annual Fee Review Working Group

The mandate of the Annual Fee Review Working Group is to consider whether there is a principled justification for the Law Society changing its present practice of charging all members in a particular category of membership the same annual practice fee and, where applicable, insurance fees, and if so, what basis might be appropriate and feasible for determining and assessing differential fees for any particular sub-group of the membership.

Members of the working group are: Dean P.J. Lawton, QC (Chair), Barbara Cromarty, Jeffrey T.J. Campbell, QC, Roland Krueger, CD and Philip A. Riddell, QC.