October 20, 2023

In this 2023 Bencher election, contested elections will be held in Vancouver, Victoria, Westminster, Okanagan, Cariboo, Prince Rupert and Kamloops.

Benchers Declared Continued without Election or Declared Elected by Acclamation

For Districts No. 1 (Vancouver), No. 2 (Victoria), No. 3 (Nanaimo), and No. 5 (Kootenay)

Under Law Society Rule 1-5(4), the President, and First and Second Vice-Presidents continue to serve as Benchers without further election until completing their terms as President, thereby reducing the number of Benchers to be elected from the County of Vancouver (District No. 1) from 13 to 11, and from the County of Victoria (District No. 2) from 2 to 1. The following Benchers are declared to continue in office without election:

  • District No. 1 (Vancouver) – two fewer Benchers will be elected because 2024 President Jeevyn Dhaliwal, KC and 2024 First Vice-President Brook Greenberg, KC are each from Vancouver County.
  • District No. 2 (Victoria) – one fewer Bencher will be elected because 2024 Second Vice-President Lindsay R. LeBlanc is from Victoria County.

Under Law Society Rule 1-24, the following candidates are elected by acclamation; accordingly no vote is required in these districts:

  • District No. 3 (Nanaimo) – one to be elected: Brian Dybwad
  • District No. 5 (Kootenay) – one to be elected: Barbara Stanley, KC