News from the Law Foundation

2006 / 2007 Law Foundation graduate fellowships

The Law Foundation offers fellowships to BC lawyers and law students who wish to pursue full-time graduate studies in law or a law-related area at a recognized university in Canada (outside BC), in the US or abroad.


There are up to four awards of $13,750 each (subject to change).

Closing date

All applications and support materials must be received by the Law Foundation by January 5, 2006. Late or incomplete applications will not be considered.

Application documents

The application guidelines and application form may be obtained online at, by email request to, by calling 604 688-2337 or by writing to the Law Foundation of BC, 1340 - 605 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 5J3.

New Governors

The Law Foundation welcomed new Governors in 2005:

Marilyn Baker – An Attorney General appointee, Ms. Baker is the former mayor of the District of North Vancouver, having retired in 1990 after four terms in office.

Barbara Cromarty – Appointed by the Law Society, Ms. Cromarty is a Trail lawyer who practises civil litigation, primarily in family law.

John Dustan – Mr. Dustan is President of Pacific Funds Management Ltd. and Chair of the board of Special Olympics Canada. He is appointed by the Attorney General.

Christine Elliott – Ms. Elliott, reappointed by the Law Society, is a Vancouver solicitor, board member of the Land Title and Survey Authority and adjunct professor at the UBC law school.

Nancy Merrill – Appointed by the Law Society, Ms. Merrill is a Nanaimo lawyer whose primary fields of practice are family law, mediation, personal injury law, wills and estates and child protection work.

Bruce Strachan – Mr. Strachan, an appointee of the Attorney General, served for 12 years as an MLA for Prince George South and has been minister of the environment, deputy speaker, government house leader and minister of health, inter-governmental relations and advanced education.

John D. Waddell, QC – a CBA (BC Branch) appointee, Mr. Waddell is a civil litigation lawyer from Victoria who has served various community and professional organizations, including as President of the BC Branch of the CBA for 1995-1996.