Appointments to other bodies

Federation of Law Societies - On April 4 the Benchers endorsed the creation of the new Council of the Federation of Law Societies of Canada (constituted of one representative from each law society in Canada) to replace the current Federation board under a new restructuring plan.

The Benchers accordingly appointed Second Vice-President Peter J. Keighley, QC, of Abbotsford, to serve on the new Council. Mr. Keighley's appointment will take effect shortly, once new Federation bylaws are approved and in force. In the interim, former Treasurer Trudi Brown, QC, of Victoria, will continue to represent the Law Society on the Federation board and President Howard Berge, QC of Kelowna will serve on a pro tem board.

CBA National and Provincial Councils - The Benchers have appointed Benchers Grant C. Taylor of New Westminster to the CBA National Council and John Hunter, QC of Vancouver to the CBA Provincial Council.

Legal Services Society - The Benchers have appointed D. Brent Adair, QC of Chilliwack, Gregory Bowden, QC of Vancouver, Barbara Fisher, of Vancouver and John Hogg, QC of Kamloops to the new Legal Services Society board of directors.

Under the Legal Services Society Act, as amended, the Law Society is responsible for appointing four of the nine members of the Legal Services Society board of directors. The new board is scheduled to take over governance of the Legal Services Society in May, 2003.

President Howard Berge, QC thanks the 45 BC lawyers who volunteered to serve the public and the profession as Law Society appointees to the LSS board, in response to a Law Society call for expressions of interest in March.

UBC Law Faculty Council - The President has appointed Law Society Director of Education and Practice Alan Treleaven, of Vancouver, to the UBC Law Faculty Council for a two-year term beginning March 26, 2003.

Vancouver International Airport Authority - The Benchers have reappointed Thomas English, QC, of Vancouver, to the board of the Vancouver International Airport Authority for a second three-year term (2003-2006).