Election results for 2002-2003 term

Law Society welcomes eight new Benchers in 2002

Eight new Benchers have been elected and 14 Benchers re-elected (four by acclamation), following elections held November 15 for the 2002-2003 term. Complete election results by district, as well as the full roster of Benchers for the coming term, can be found on the Law Society website at www.lawsociety.bc.ca.

New to the Benchers table, representing Vancouver District, are John J.L. Hunter, Q.C., Margaret Ostrowski, Q.C, Gordon Turriff, James D. Vilvang, Q.C. and David A. Zacks. Re-elected in Vancouver are Benchers Robert D. Diebolt, Q.C., Ian Donaldson, Q.C., Anna K. Fung, Q.C., David W. Gibbons, Q.C., Robert W. Gourlay, Q.C., William J. Sullivan, Q.C. and Ross D. Tunnicliffe.

In Victoria District, Ralston S. Alexander, Q.C. was re-elected and Anne Wallace was elected a Bencher for the first time, replacing Richard Margetts, Q.C. who completed his term as President and Bencher at year-end.

G. Glen Ridgway, Q.C. was elected as the Bencher for Nanaimo District, replacing D. Peter Ramsay, Q.C. who did not stand for election this year.

In Westminster Benchers Peter J. Keighley, Q.C. and Russell S. Tretiak, Q.C. were re-elected and Grant C. Taylor was elected for the first time, replacing Robert Crawford, Q.C. (now Mr. Justice Crawford) who was appointed to the Supreme Court in September.

Re-elected by acclamation are Benchers Gerald J. Kambeitz, Q.C. (Kootenay), Patricia L. Schmit, Q.C. (Cariboo), G. Ronald Toews, Q.C., (Prince Rupert) and Robert W. McDiarmid, Q.C. (Kamloops).

Also continuing as Benchers are 2002 President Richard C. Gibbs, Q.C., a Bencher for Cariboo, First Vice-President Howard R. Berge, Q.C., the Bencher for Okanagan and Second Vice-President William M. Everett, Q.C., a Bencher for Vancouver.

The Law Society is awaiting word from the provincial Cabinet on Lay Bencher appointments for 2002.