2000 Bench & Bar Dinner

Ted Hughes, Q.C. to receive the  Law Society Award

The Benchers are pleased to announce that the Honourable Edward Norman (Ted) Hughes, Q.C. has been chosen to receive the Law Society Award in 2000, with the presentation to take place at the annual Bench & Bar Dinner on Thursday, November 2 in Vancouver.

The Law Society Award is offered every two years to honour the lifetime contribution of the truly exceptional in our profession. As noted in the call for nominations, the Law Society seeks a person "who stands out from the crowd, who has contributed more than anyone could ask and who inspires others to a pursuit of excellence."

Following his years as a practising lawyer and 18 years of service as a judge of the Saskatchewan District and Surrogate Courts and the Saskatchewan Court of the Queen's Bench, Mr. Hughes held the position of Deputy Attorney General in British Columbia for seven years.

He chaired the Attorney General's Justice Reform Committee from 1987-1988 and the Law Society's Gender Bias Committee from 1990-1992. He also served the profession admirably as Acting Secretary of the Law Society from April, 1997 to January, 1998, following the judicial appointment of Mr. Justice Bryan Ralph.

He has served as Complaints Commissioner to the B.C. Police Commission and as Conflict of Interest Commissioner for B.C., the Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

Mr. Hughes has been the chief federal treaty negotiator in British Columbia and is currently chair of the British Columbia Press Council.

The 2000 Selection Committee (Chair Alan Vanderburgh, Q.C., William Everett, Q.C. and Jane Shackell, Q.C.) were greatly impressed with the calibre of this year's nominations. In recommending Mr. Hughes to the Benchers, the Committee was guided by the Award criteria:

  • Integrity — The recipient is of unimpeachable good character with a reputation for high professional integrity and honesty.

  • Professional achievements — The recipient is known for significant accomplishments in his or her professional career.

  • Service — The recipient has made exceptional volunteer contributions of time and energy to the advancement of the legal profession, either personally or through a recognized society or organization.

  • Reform — The recipient has made an outstanding contribution to the betterment of the law or the improvement of the justice system.

The Law Society Award is a bronze statue of Sir Matthew Baillie Begbie, a beautiful artpiece by the late Pender Island sculptor, Ralph Sketch.

Past recipients of the Award are Dean Emeritus George F. Curtis, Q.C. (1986), Oscar F. Orr, M.B.E., O.B.C., Q.C. (1988), Chief Justice J.O. Wilson (honoured posthumously, 1992), Mr. Justice Peter Seaton (honoured posthumously, 1994), Alfred Watts, Q.C. (1996) and Martin Taylor, Q.C. (1998).

The Bench & Bar Dinner — co-sponsored by the Law Society and the CBA (B.C. Branch) — takes place at the Delta Pinnacle Hotel in Vancouver the evening of November 2. (See the enclosed notice for details.)

Another much anticipated highlight of the Bench & Bar program is presentation of the CBA Georges A. Goyer, Q.C. Memorial Award for Distinguished Service.