News Releases

For immediate release November 3, 2000

Law Society gives special service award to Ted Hughes, Q.C.

VANCOUVER – The Law Society of B.C. is pleased to announce that the Honourable E.N. (Ted) Hughes, Q.C. has been chosen to receive the Law Society Award in 2000.

The Law Society Award is offered every two years to honour a lawyer whose lifetime contribution to the legal profession and the justice system has been truly exceptional.

"Ted Hughes — with his career as a lawyer, a judge, and a public servant — and his record as a volunteer for service clubs and charities — is truly an exemplary member of the Law Society," said Law Society President, Karl Warner, Q.C.

Hughes began his career in Saskatoon in 1952 where he practised law for 10 years and was a judge for 18 years. In 1980, he moved to B.C. where he served three years as a legal advisor in the Attorney General's ministry and seven years as Deputy Attorney General.

Hughes has also served on numerous commissions of inquiry for the federal government and the governments of B.C., Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

In 1997-1998, Hughes chaired the B.C. government's Justice Reform Committee that led to major changes in the justice system including the merger of the Supreme and County courts. He also served as Conflict of Interest Commissioner for the B.C., Yukon and Northwest Territories Legislatures. From April 1997 to January 1988, Hughes was acting executive director of the Law Society of B.C. Most recently, Hughes chaired the APEC Inquiry in B.C.

Hughes' volunteer work includes executive positions with the Kinsmen Club, the Rotary Club, the Red Cross and the Heart Foundation. He has also held directorships with hospitals, health care associations and theatres in both Saskatchewan and B.C.

Past recipients of the Law Society Award include UBC law school's Dean Emeritus George F. Curtis, Q.C. (1986), Oscar F. Orr, M.B.E., O.B.C., Q.C. (1988), Chief Justice J.O. Wilson (honoured posthumously, 1992), Mr. Justice Peter Seaton, (honoured posthumously, 1996), and Martin Taylor, Q.C. (1998).

The Law Society is the governing body of the legal profession in B.C. It is responsible for the licensing, professional conduct and discipline of the more than 10,000 lawyers in B.C.


For more information contact:
Brad Daisley
Public Affairs Manager
The Law Society of B.C.
604-443-5724 or 1-800-903-5300 toll-free in B.C.