In Brief

Bench & Bar Dinners

Tickets are still available for the 25th annual Bench & Bar Dinner, which takes place on Wednesday, November 4 at the Pan Pacific Hotel in Vancouver. The Law Society is pleased that the Honourable Steven L. Point, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of BC and the Honourable Michael de Jong, QC, Attorney General of BC, will be attending the dinner to honour the society’s 125th anniversary.

The Law Society and the CBA are joining with the Kelowna Bar Association to invite lawyers and judges to attend the 6th annual Yale County Bench & Bar Dinner. It’s happening on Thursday, November 19 at the Delta Grand Okanagan Resort in Kelowna.

To download programs and registration forms for the Bench & Bar Dinners, see the Calendar at

Webster awards

A selection of BC’s best journalists have been named as finalists for the 2009 Jack Webster Awards. This year’s recipients — including the winner of the Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism, sponsored by the Law Society — will be honoured at a ceremony at the Westin Bayshore on Tuesday, October 20.

VanCity and HSBC improve rates to Foundation

Law Foundation Chair Mary Mouat is commending Vancouver City Savings Credit Union and HSBC Bank of Canada for their commitment to paying a competitive rate of return on lawyers’ pooled trust accounts. Both are on the Foundation’s preferred list of financial institutions.

Increased revenues enable the Law Foundation to fund programs that make the justice system more accessible to British Columbians. The funded programs include professional legal education, public legal education, law reform, legal research, legal aid and law libraries.

Lawyers are encouraged to consider which financial institutions provide the best support to the Law Foundation when deciding where to place their trust accounts.

Judicial appointment

The Honourable Gregory T.W. Bowden, a Judge of the Provincial Court of BC, has been appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of BC in Vancouver. He will replace Madam Justice K.M. Gill, who resigned on June 1, 2009.