Law Firm Regulation Task Force

Law firm regulation – consultation

When the Legal Profession Act was amended in 2012, the Law Society was given the authority to regulate “law firms” in addition to its authority to regulate individual lawyers. “Law firm” is defined as “a legal entity or combination of legal entities carrying on the practice of law.” The Law Firm Regulation Task Force has been created and given a mandate to recommend a framework for the regulation of law firms.


Herman Van Ommen, QC (Chair)
Martin Finch, QC
Sharon Matthews, QC 
Peter Lloyd, FCPA, FCA (Vice-Chair; Life Bencher)


Jan Christiansen
Lori Mathison
Angela Westmacott, QC
Henry Wood, QC

Staff contact

Michael Lucas

Committee and Task Force Reports