2016 Annual General Meeting of the Law Society of British Columbia 

Friday, October 14, 2016
Registration: 11:30 am – 12:30 pm PST (Vancouver); 11:45 am – 12:30 pm PST (other locations)
Call to order: 12:30 pm PST
Main location: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, The Panorama Roof, 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver
Audio-conference locations:
Victoria • Nanaimo • Abbotsford • Surrey • Castlegar • Cranbrook • Kelowna
Prince George • Dawson Creek • Prince Rupert • Smithers • Terrace • Kamloops

August 4, 2016

BC lawyers and articled students are invited to attend the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Law Society, which will be held on Friday, October 14, 2016.


The business of the AGM will include the following:

  • Election of Second Vice-President for 2017;
  • Appointment of Law Society auditors for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2016;
  • Announcement of the 2017 practice fee; and
  • Consideration of any resolutions, including member resolutions submitted under Rule 1-8(6).
Electronic participation

The implementation of webcasting at last year’s AGM marked the first step toward electronic participation at AGMs. This year, in addition to webcasting, the AGM notices are being distributed electronically and members will be asked to consider a resolution authorizing the Benchers to revise the Law Society Rules to allow for electronic voting at future general meetings.

For this year, if you would like to participate and vote at the AGM, you must attend at one of the physical locations. If you are interested in watching and listening via webcast, access information will be provided with the second notice and posted to the Law Society website.

Member resolutions

To be considered at the 2016 AGM, resolutions must be submitted in writing, signed by two members in good standing and received by the Executive Director no later than 5:00 pm on Friday, September 2 (Law Society Rule 1-8(6)).

If you have any questions regarding the submission of resolutions or their consideration at the AGM, contact Renee Collins, Manager of Executive Support, by telephone at 604.443.5706 (toll-free at 1.800.903.5300) or by email to rcollins@lsbc.org.

2017 Fees

The Benchers will set the 2017 fees pursuant to the Legal Profession Act, following their review of the Finance and Audit Committee’s recommendations at the September 30, 2016 Bencher meeting. The Finance and Audit Committee will base its recommendations on a thorough review of the Law Society’s finances, statutory mandate and strategic plan. An overview of the 2017 fees set by the Benchers will be presented at the 2016 AGM, and will be posted to the Highlights section of the Law Society website.

The Finance and Audit Committee and senior management are conducting a full review of the Law Society’s operational budgets for 2017, which will be finalized over the next few months as the basis for the 2017 General Fund practice fee, in addition to the Lawyers Insurance Fund assessment and the Trust Administration Fee. The overall objective when setting the practice fee is to ensure that the operations of the General Fund are appropriately funded to enable the Law Society to efficiently and effectively fulfill its statutory mandate to protect the public interest in the administration of justice.

The Finance and Audit Committee is also reviewing budgets and fee proposals from a number of organizations and programs traditionally supported by Law Society fees, including: Courthouse Libraries BC, the Lawyers Assistance Program, The Advocate, the Federation of Law Societies of Canada, the Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) and the delivery of pro bono legal services.

If you have any questions about the process for setting the 2017 fees, contact Jeanette McPhee, Chief Financial Officer and Director of Trust Regulation, by telephone at 604.443.5712 (toll-free at 1.800.903.5300) or by email to jmcphee@lsbc.org. The second notice of the 2016 AGM will be published on the Law Society website (www.lawsociety.bc.ca) and emailed to members in September. That notice will include instructions for accessing the webcast, the venue addresses, RSVP instructions for attendance at the designated meeting locations in Vancouver, Victoria, Nanaimo, Abbotsford, Surrey, Castlegar, Cranbrook, Kelowna, Prince George, Dawson Creek, Prince Rupert, Smithers, Terrace and Kamloops, and any resolutions to be considered at the meeting.