Schedule of Bencher meetings
Bencher meeting agendas and minutes
Bencher elections 
Bencher’s oath and duties
Presidents and Treasurers, 1869 to present

There are two types of Benchers:

Elected Benchers: 25 lawyers who are elected by other lawyers in nine regions across BC.

Appointed Benchers: up to six non-lawyers who are selected by the provincial Cabinet to represent the public interest.

The Attorney General of British Columbia is also a Bencher although, in practice, the Deputy Attorney General attends Bencher meetings on the Attorney's behalf.

Any Bencher who has served for four terms or who has served as President of the Law Society is recognized for life with the honorary title of “Life Bencher.”

With the exception of the President and Vice-Presidents, all Benchers volunteer their time to the Law Society, which is a considerable commitment given the frequent meetings and membership to various committees.

Benchers serve minimum two-year terms and can be re-elected. The President is the chief elected official of the Society, and serves a one-year term in that position.

Elected Benchers

Kenneth M. Walker

Kenneth M. Walker, QC
Kamloops District
Wozniak & Walker
533 Nicola Street
Kamloops, BC V2C 2P9
Tel. 250.374.6226

E. David Crossin, QC

E. David Crossin, QC
First Vice-President
Vancouver County

Sugden, McFee & Roos LLP
Suite 700 – 375 Water Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5N3
Tel: 604.687.7700

Herman Van Ommen

Herman Van Ommen, QC
Second Vice-President
Vancouver County
McCarthy Tetrault LLP
1300 – 777 Dunsmuir Street
Vancouver, BC V7Y 1K2
Tel: 604.643.7100

Joseph Arvay, QC 

Joseph Arvay, QC
Vancouver County

Farris Vaughan Wills & Murphy LLP
P.O. Box 10026 Pacific Centre
25th Floor – 700 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, BC V7Y 1B3
Tel. 604.684.9151

Edmund Caissie 

Edmund Caissie
Westminster County
Caissie & Company Law Corporation
#205 – 15127 – 100th Avenue
Surrey, BC  V3R 0N9
Tel: 604-586-7200 

Pinder Cheema, QC 

Pinder K. Cheema, QC
Victoria County

Ministry of Justice
3rd Floor – 940 Blanshard Street
Victoria, BC V8W 3E6
Tel: 250.387.4481 

Jeevyn Dhaliway 

Jeevyn Dhaliwal
Vancouver County

Larlee Rosenberg
Suite 600, Randall Building
555 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 1Z5
Tel: 604.681.9887

Lynal Doerksen

Lynal E. Doerksen
Kootenay County
Ministry of Justice
201 Access Center
100 Cranbrook Street North
Cranbrook, BC  V1C 3P9
Tel: 250.426.1525 

Tom Fellhauer

Tom Fellhauer
Okanagan district
Pushor Mitchell LLP
3rd Floor, 1665 Ellis Street
Kelowna, BC V1Y 2B3
Tel: 250.762.2108

Craig A.B. Ferris, QC 

Craig A.B. Ferris, QC
Vancouver County
Lawson Lundell LLP
1600 – 925 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 3L2
Tel: 604.631.9197 

Martin Finch, QC 

Martin Finch, QC
Westminster County

Baker Newby LLP
9259 Main Street
P.O. Box 390
Chilliwack, BC V2P 6K2
Tel: 604.792.1376

Miriam Kresivo, QC

Miriam Kresivo, QC
Vancouver County
Alexander Holburn Beaudin & Lang LLP
2700 – 700 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, BC  V7Y 1B8
Tel: 604.484.1797

Dean P.J. Lawton 

Dean P.J. Lawton
Victoria County

Carfra Lawton LLP
6th Floor, 395 Waterfront Crescent
Victoria, BC V8T 5K7
Tel: 250.995.4253 

Jamie Maclaren 

Jamie Maclaren
Vancouver County

Access Pro Bono Society of BC
300 – 845 Cambie Street
Vancouver BC V6B 4Z9
Tel: 604.629.9666 

Sharon Matthews, QC 

Sharon Matthews, QC
Vancouver County
Camp Fiorante Matthews Mogerman
400 – 856 Homer Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2W5
Tel: 604.331.9522 

 Nancy Merrill

Nancy G. Merrill
Nanaimo County
Merrill Long & Company
201 Milton Street
Nanaimo, BC V9R 2K5
Tel: 250.754.4441

 Maria Morellato, QC

Maria Morellato, QC
Vancouver County
Mandell Pinder LLP
Suite 422, 1080 Mainland Street
Vancouver, BC  V6B 2T4
Tel: 604.681.4146

David W. Mossop, QC

David W. Mossop, QC
Vancouver County
Community Legal Assistance Society
300 – 1140 West Pender Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 4G1
Tel: 604.685.3425

C.E. Lee Ongman

C.E. Lee Ongman
Cariboo County
Traxler Haines
614 – 1488 – 4th Avenue
Prince George, BC V2L 4Y2
Tel: 250.563.7741

Gregory A. Petrisor

Gregory A. Petrisor
Cariboo County
512 – 1488 Fourth Avenue
Prince George, BC V2L 4Y2
Tel: 250.563.4971

 Philip Riddell

Phil Riddell
Westminster County
Philip A. Riddell Law Corporation
6222 – 2850 Shaughnessy Street
Port Coquitlam, BC  V3C 6K5
Tel: 604.520.6033

Elizabeth Rowbotham

Elizabeth Rowbotham
Vancouver County

Ministry of Justice - Legal Services
1301 – 865 Hornby Street
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2G3
Tel: 604.660.3093

A. Cameron Ward 

A. Cameron Ward
Vancouver County

Laxton Gibbens & Company
1119 – 808 Nelson Street
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2H2
Tel: 604.682.3871 

 Sarah Westwood

Sarah Westwood
Prince Rupert County
Yuen Westwood Law Corporation
3707 2nd Avenue
P.O. Box 1089
Smithers, BC V0J 2N0
Tel: 250.877.0218

 Tony Wilson

Tony Wilson
Vancouver County
Boughton Law Corporation
700 – 595 Burrard Street
Vancouver, BC  V7X 1S8
Tel: 604.684.1800

Appointed Benchers

 Haydn Acheson Haydn Acheson
 Satwinder Bains Satwinder Bains
 David Corey David Corey
 Peter Lloyd Peter B. Lloyd
 Claude Richmond

Claude Richmond

Contact the Law Society for correspondence with Appointed Benchers

Life Benchers

(including dates of service as Benchers)

The Honourable Peter J. Millward, QC (1965-1975)
The Honourable Mary F. Southin, QC (1971-1980)
Norman Severide, QC (1975-1981)
H. Allan Hope, QC (1974-1982)
The Honourable Thomas R. Braidwood, QC (1973-1975; 1979-1985)
The Honourable Bruce I. Cohen, QC (1978-1986)
Marvin R.V. Storrow, QC (1980-1987)
R. Paul Beckmann, QC (1980-1989)
Robert M. Dick, QC (1983-1991)
The Honourable Mr. Justice Peter Leask (1984-1992)
Brian J. Wallace, QC (1985-1993)
John M. Hogg, QC (1984-1993)
P. Michael Bolton, QC (1985-1993)
The Honourable Mr. Justice Robert T.C. Johnston (1986-1994)
The Honourable Mr. Justice Grant D. Burnyeat (1988-1995)
Donald A. Silversides, QC (1984-1995)
Gary L.F. Somers, QC (1984-1995)
James M. MacIntyre, QC (1986-1995)
Alan E. Vanderburgh, QC (1989-1995)
Karen F. Nordlinger, QC (1988-1996)
Richard C.C. Peck, QC (1988-1997)
Leonard T. Doust, QC (1990-1997)
William M. Trotter, QC (1990-1997)
Trudi L. Brown, QC (1992-1998)
Warren T. Wilson, QC (1991-1999)
The Honourable Ujjal Dosanjh, QC (1995-2000)
Karl F. Warner, QC (1994-2000)
Richard S. Margetts, QC (1995-2001)
Gerald J. Lecovin, QC (1994-2001)
Emily M. Reid, QC (1994-2001)
Jane S. Shackell, QC (1994-2001)
Ann Howard (1992-2002)
Marjorie Martin, MSW (1992-2002)
Richard C. Gibbs, QC (1996-2002)
Howard R. Berge, QC (1992-2003)
Russell S. Tretiak, QC (1992-2003)
Robert D. Diebolt, QC (1996-2003)
G. Ronald Toews, QC (1996-2003)
Gerald J. Kambeitz, QC (1996-2003)
William J. Sullivan, QC (1997-2003)
Master Peter J. Keighley (1996-2004)
William M. Everett, QC (1998-2004)
Ralston S. Alexander, QC (1999-2005)
Patricia L. Schmit, QC (1998-2005)
Master Robert W. McDiarmid (1998-2006)
Anna K. Fung, QC (1998-2007)
Ian Donaldson, QC (2000-2007)
June Preston, MSW (2001-2008)
John J.L. Hunter, QC (2002-2008)
Gordon Turriff, QC (2002-2009)
Terence E. La Liberté, QC (2000-2001, 2004-2009)
James D. Vilvang, QC (2002-2009)
David A. Zacks, QC (2002-2009)
The Honourable Judge William F.M. Jackson (2003-2009)
Patrick Kelly (2002-2010)
Dr. Maelor Vallance (2002-2010)
G. Glen Ridgway, QC (2002-2010)
Gavin Hume, QC (2004-2011)
Joost Blom, QC (2004-2011)
Carol W. Hickman, QC (2004-2011)
Bruce A. LeRose, QC (2004-2012)
Art Vertlieb, QC (2004-2013)
Rita C. Andreone, QC (2006-2013)
Kathryn Berge, QC (2006-2013)
Leon Getz, QC (2006-2013)
Thelma O'Grady (2006-2013)
David Renwick, QC (2006-2013)
Richard Stewart, QC (2006-2013)
Jan Lindsay, QC (2006-2014)