The Law Society Award honours the lifetime contribution of the truly exceptional in the legal profession, the person who has contributed more than anyone could ask and who inspires others in the pursuit of excellence.

Offered every two years, the award is based on the criteria of integrity, professional achievement, service and law reform. The award is made primarily in recognition of contributions to the advancement of the legal profession or the law, but public service outside the profession will be considered.

The Law Society Award for 2020

The Law Society Award for 2020 will be announced in October. Thank you to all who submitted nominations.

For further information about the award, contact

Past recipients

Richard C.C. Peck, QC (2018)
Constance D. Isherwood, QC (2016)
John Hunter, QC (2014)
Marvin Storrow, QC (2012)
The Hon. John Charles Bouck (honoured posthumously, 2010)
John McAlpine, QC (2008)
Charles C. Locke, QC (2006)
Richard R. Sugden, QC (2004)
The Hon. Kenneth E. Meredith (2002)
The Hon. E.N. (Ted) Hughes, QC (2000)
The Hon. Martin R. Taylor, QC (1998)
Alfred Watts, QC (1996)
Mr. Justice Peter D. Seaton (honoured posthumously, 1994)
Chief Justice J.O. Wilson (honoured posthumously, 1992)
Oscar F. Orr, MBE, OBC, QC (1988)
Dean Emeritus George F. Curtis, QC (1986)

Law Society Award for 2018

Richard C.C. Peck, QC and President Miriam Kresivo, QC

Richard C.C. Peck, QC was the recipient of the Law Society Award for 2018 (above, with 2018 President Miriam Kresivo, QC). The award was presented to Peck at the Bench and Bar Dinner on November 7, 2018.