Each year the Law Society honours longstanding members of the profession through the presentation of 50, 60 and 70-year certificates, in tribute to their cumulative years in the profession.

For those lawyers who have previously served as a judge, all years of service on the Bench are acknowledged as forming part of that service record.

The Benchers hosted a luncheon in Vancouver on June 13, 2018 to honour lawyers who celebrated milestone anniversaries in the ­profession in 2018.

Receiving 50-year certificates unless otherwise noted, were, seated left to right: Michael D. Akerly, Gerald J. Lecovin, QC (60 years), Volmar Nordman (60 years), Warren T. Wilson, QC, John J. Michalski, Hon. Jack Austin, PC, QC (60 years), W. Richard D. Underhill (60 years), Bryan F. Ralph, QC and Duncan W. Shaw, QC (60 years).

Standing left to right: Ronald A. Wattie, J.F. Chester Bridal, Gavin H.G. Hume, QC, James A. W. Schuman, QC, Bryan K. Davis, Romano F. Giusti, QC, Dennis P. Coates, QC, Ronald George Fabbro, David F. McEwen, QC, David E.M. Jenkins, QC, John C. Fiddes, John W. Elwick, Yale M. Chernoff, Frank M. Baily, Alan E. Vanderburgh, QC (60 years), F. Stuart Lang, David L. Winkler, QC, Gordon M. Clark, George P. B. Reilly (60 years) and S. Russel Chamberlain, QC.

Also honoured this year, but not pictured: Ken Burnett, Michael B.M. Ellis, Richard P. Gibbons, Jack J. Huberman, QC, Robert W. Johnson, L. Neil Matheson, QC, Brian E. McCrea, David R. Mossman, William G. Nelson, W. Maxwell R. Newby, A. Barry Oland, John H. Outhet, Donald H. C. Paterson (60 years), Ian H. Pitfield, Alfred H.E. Popp, Barry J. Promislow (60 years), Raymond A. Rodger, Leon F. Thomas and Ivan G. Whitehall, QC.